-By: Elliott (PG_E2lio2tR)

Everyone needs a bit of help sometimes, even Warcasters and Warlocks. Today we will be taking a look at the group of models that are classified as Attachment for Warlocks & Warcasters and the rules surrounding them. It can be tricky for new players to fully understand how they fit in an army and which one would do the best for what type of caster. The hope is that, after reading this article, you will have a better understanding about this classification of model and the rules for adding them in your army.

Attachment rules state that, before the game starts, you must pick one Warcaster/Warlock to which you attach the model/unit. A warcaster/warlock can only have one (1) attachment on it. Sometimes there is an additional restriction of Faction. A Khadoran Warcaster will not have any idea how to operate a Cygnarin Squire. Past these restrictions, the model operates normally. It will get its own activation separate from the Warcaster, but more on this in a bit.

A common question is if the attachment is part of the battle group. Simply enough, it is not. Spells and abilities that affect Battlegroup only do not have an impact on the attached model. Warjack and Warbeast points are not used to add them to the army. These points can only be used on jacks and beasts that are being added to the Warcaster/Warlock’s battle group. They are added to the army like any other solo or unit. They are purchased by using the Army points (from the 75 points in a 75 point army for example).

There are Warcasters that come with special attached models already. In these cases, you can not attach any other model to it besides warjacks and warbeasts. Let’s be fair here. Borka1 would need his Keg carrier more than some old Troll carving stones. Asphyxious3 has spent a long time training his personal Skarlock, Vociferon, just to choose to bring some new one with him into battle. Game play wise, these unique attachments help bring the play style the caster is designed for to full fruition and should be looked at while planning a list around those casters. The easiest way to see if this is the case is to look at the model that comes with the caster. If it has the Attached rule on its card, then it counts as a Caster attachment, so you will not be able to add an additional one to the list.

Now with those special cases where Casters come with other models, you may be asking how Warcaster/Warlock attachments work with Caster units. This one is a bit more tricky. You are allowed to add them to Warcaster and Warlock Units. They are considered to be attached to the Warcaster of the unit, who is also the leader of said unit. Nemo3 would love to have a Squire running with him and Finch. Butcher3 does not mind having another dog running with his Argi and him. The way to make sure that this is ok is to look at the classification of the Warcaster. If it has the type “Unit” on its title line (under the name), then you can add an attachment to the Caster. It is important to check on this before you do so because there are Warcaster units that are just two models (Doomshaper3 or Nemo3) and some that are three models (Butcher3 or Makada3).

There are several types of Caster attachments. By this, I mean that they each bring a different type of support that certain casters will want more then others. I break them down into three types: Arcane support, Combat Support and Tactical Support. The one you pick depends on what you would like it to do to support your caster. If you are taking a spellslinger type of caster (any of the Nemos, Zakovas, ect), you will want to take an attachment that will help support that aspect of game play. These types will usually improve upkeeping spells, range of spells or more resources to cast them. The combat support attachments help with protecting casters in combat and/or adding another attack into a target. Tactical Support attachments give you some options to help implement your plan for the turn. This can be helping remove stealth from a target, helping by making your beasts and jacks do more for a turn or other methods of helping with getting more from a turn. Picking the correct attachment can be tricky at times, but can help in the long run when done right.

There are attachments that can be found in the Minion and Mercenary factions. They can work for other armies like most other models in their faction. The tricky part is to make sure that they can attach to models outside their own faction. One example of this being an issue will be the Minion Warlock attachment, Targ. He can only be attached to Minion Warlocks, so you will not be able to put him in a Circle army, unless you are running an army large enough to have two Warlocks and take a Minion one for your second. The best way to avoid any issues while making a list is to look at what army the model can work for then read the attachment rule printed on it. This will indicate what faction they can pick their attached Warcaster/Warlock from.

There you have it. A simplistic look (I hope) at Caster Attachments. They can add a lot of flexibility to your casters and can be extremely useful when paired correctly with your caster of choice. Not every Warcaster or Warlock needs one, but the ones that do will have their play style amplified by the investment. So get out there, play games, try out different combinations and see what works for you.

Advertisements