-By: Dave (Kahos_Angel)

devilspaynew

You’ve heard their name spoken in whispers, like the boogyman of Warmachine, Convergence, the faction to stay away from if you’re a starting player. You’ve heard the reasons why you should stay away: they’re harder than normal to learn, too many rules, it’s a limited release faction that PP won’t support. Well, I’m going to tell you, those are all really valid reasons. They do have more rules and they are a limited release faction. My question is, why let that stop you?  I want to try and dispel some of the myth and mis-information around what really is a solid faction.

aurora1I started playing this faction as my first venture into the Warmachine universe, mainly because of the things I heard about them and of course their look. Father Lucant is the first model from them I saw. I had no previous Warmachine experience at all other than a few friends who kept yelling for me to quit another not-to-be-named game and come play this one. I saw that model and fell for the look. I started finding out everything and anything I could about the faction. The limited release appealed to me as a beginner since it meant fewer models to collect and paint. There in lies the strength of that “drawback”. There are fewer models to get and learn with. 5 casters and each one vastly different. A handful of infantry, a smattering of ‘jacks and a few support pieces. That was it (the battle engine T.E.P. hadn’t been released yet). Compare that to when I started Trollbloods and the overwhelming feeling I got looking at all the choices and then finding out that quite a few of them were just bloat and wouldn’t be used that often outside friendly games. Convergence doesn’t suffer from this problem as greatly as other factions and that’s a great reason to start them. Nearly every purchase you make is going to make a difference for your army and your list. There’s a great chance that the models you pick up from your FLGS (always support your local store folks) are going to have an impact and see quite a bit of play, that’s not necessarily the case with other “starter” armies. Going into Trolls blind and finding out some of the models I bought would sit on the shelf made me feel like I had wasted money and time.  

c2fgqlywqaakkckOk, so we’ve kinda covered the limited aspect of why not to play them, what about the difficultly to learn? Well, to tell the truth, Warmachine itself is a hard game to learn. Me personally, I’d rather know all the rules when I start, and then subtract when I switch to something different. I would hate to learn how to play Cygnar, for example, then have to learn how to do induction after playing without it for all that time. Learning CoC is a study in synergy. They truly are a clockwork faction. When all the gears mesh, they can be great, when they don’t, well, you’re probably going to lose. I’m going to let you in on a secret though, when people start to learn Warmachine they tend to lose for a while. To me it was a challenge. If I could master this faction, I could do well with them all. Two years later, I still haven’t mastered them. That’s ok though because the game is still a learning experience and after every defeat I come out stronger. That’s my main message for anyone who wants to start this faction, put your head down and barrel through it. The learning period is going to be rough, but, as other players have shown, this can be a top tier faction. Adding to this, I do not feel as though this faction plays well at lower point values. As a new player I wanted to start slow and play low points to get the hang of everything. The problem is, at flthose lower points, I couldn’t bring the support pieces that we need. Remember what I said about cogs earlier, well, it’s hard to build a full clock when you have cogs missing. You can jam some of the bigger ones together, but they’re just not going to mesh right and it’s going to be frustrating. My advice is to get someone from your local meta to do some smaller test games just to let you see how and what your models can do. My local meta is lucky enough to have quite a few of these people. Once you’ve seen how they work, jump right into a 50 or 75 point game and go for it. You will make mistakes. You’re probably going to lose. Learn though, don’t get frustrated and quit. Here’s a list I’ve had some success with:

  • Father Lucant
    • Inverter
    • Inverter
    • Corollary
  • Transfinite Emergence Projector
  • Reciprocators (full)
    • Transverse Enumerator
  • Obstructors (full)  
  • Reflex Servitors
  • Enigma Foundry
  • Enigma Foundry

cocgroup

I’ve found this list to be ideal for scenario play.  I try to get to a zone as quick as possible and then make my opponent dig me out. The Reciprocators and Obstructors both have high armor while in shield wall and Lucant’s feat makes them even harder to hurt for a round. The Inverters hit like mac trucks especially with Positive charge cast from Lucant. The TEP can help clear your jammed up troops or even heavily damage opposing ‘jacks. It’s that versatile. The enigma foundries are there to bring your troops back from the dead where they can again reinforce your lines (no, they can’t make attacks anymore in MKIII but that’s not that big of a hit imo). The Corollary is your main piece. Know it, love it, protect it at all costs. It’s the battery that powers all your vectors and keeps the induction chains going.  


Well, if after reading all that, I’ve caught your interest and maybe now you might want to try the “hardest faction in warmachine” let me know and I’ll try and do a write up to de-mystify induction and the deeper faction mysteries. Thanks for reading.

 

